Hi readers! It’s now the end of September and this is part two of my coffee readathon reads. Thanks to Haley and Jayati for organizing this and putting it together, you guys are great! Here’s my finished and filled rewards card. Woop woop!

The Prompts – The Books

Crazy Rich Asians

Stars: ⭐️⭐️2/5
Days Taken To Read: 8
Pages: 546
Genre: contempo/rom-com
6 Word Summary: rich Asian people have money problems
Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan was primarily set in Singapore so easily fitted Vietnamese Iced Coffee. It was riddled with rich snobs who were so sassy and fiery that it can be attributed to Irish Coffee. This book held a lot of promise for me as I enjoyed the rom-com 2018 film, however, I found this book was quite boring. I never once laughed. The plot seemed to be heading nowhere for much of the novel. I also found the characters fitting typical stereotypes. Yeah… didn’t like this book much at all.

The Great Escape

Stars: ⭐️⭐️⭐️✨ 3.5/5
Days Taken:
8
Pages:
224
Genre: Kids historical fiction/animal
Six Word Summary:
Three pets make daring war-time journey
The Great Escape by Megan Rix was a fun children’s read. It had cute pet characters and an interesting plot but it was just a little meh. Enjoyable but not strikingly so. With only 100 ratings on Goodreads (at time of reading) this book certainly fits cafe crema.

With The Fire On High

Stars:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️4.5/5
Days Taken:
6
Pages:
392
Genre: YA/coming-of-age/own voice
Six Word Summary: Wow, this girl loves cooking. Amazing.
Sooo good. Written by latina Elizabeth Acevedo, this read was filled with light-hearted banter and emotional aspects which interwove into such a page-turning combo. I loved the main character Emoni and how she deals with being a young mother. She grows throughout the novel (as does little Emma or Babygirl) and learns how much cooking means to her. I loved the short titled chapters and the three recipes included. Written in first person, a little like a diary, this book made for a highly enjoyable read.

The kite Runner

Stars: ⭐️⭐️⭐️✨ 3.5/5
Days Taken:
11
Pages:
372
Genre: Historical fiction/drama/classic/coming-of-age
Six Word Summary:
Afghan boy grows up with regrets
This book was probably the most devastating and heart-breaking read I have ever finished (usually I don’t attempt to read on if it breaks my heart too much). The Kite Runner by middle-eastern Khaled Hosseini told the coming of age story, much like Bryce Courtenay’s The Power of One, of Amir, with tales of Afghanistan culture. Hosseini had no fear to pull every one my heart strings to make it sting. The style was rich in figurative language, which I loved and had some extraordinary characters. Hassan made for a truly inspirational co-star. Due this book filled with trauma for the characters it was just to sad for me to enjoy it fully so 3.5 stars it is.


Mortal Engines

Stars: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️4.5/5
Days Taken:
6
Pages:
296
Genre: Steampunk/sci-fi/dystopia/YA/low fantasy/every other genre you imagine
Six Word Summary: Machine cities eat each other. Steampunk-y
I have never read something steampunk before and this was a great book to introduce me to the genre. I truly enjoyed this book. With a tame romance and light-hearted humor Mortal Engines by Phillip Reeve was an easy 4.5 star read. Due to the sad ending and high frequency of death for main characters I decided not to push it to 5 stars. I loved the writing style and world building and plan to read the next book. I loved the fact that it was a pretty light fantasy when compared with others and these are the type of fantasy I’d like to see more of. Great title as well.

The Numbers

I’ve done it! The Coffee Readathon!

9 books
10 coffees
3020 pages
11+ genres
30 days

What do you think? Did you participate in The Coffee Readathon? What was your favourite book of it?

2 thoughts on “The Coffee Readathon: Part 2 ft. a full rewards card!

Leave a comment